Anime

I need a master list to keep track.

Weird & Unsettling

Ghost Hound (ending was bizarrely Happily Ever After, though)

Puella Magi Madoka Magica (“So if you ever feel like dying for the sake of the universe, please call me anytime.”)

Steins;Gate (Though, in my opinion, it gets less weird and unsettling as it goes on.  I’ve read/watched enough stuff with time travel in it that it feels fairly familiar, and the really bizarre stuff has gotten sidelined.  Also, at first I was convinced that Okabe was schizophrenic, but that was wrong.)

Bakemonogatari (I don’t know this this belongs in the Weird & Unsettling category, but this anime leaves me REALLY conflicted.  On one hand, there’s pretty great character development.  And it has some really funny moments.  On the other hand, all the female characters are sexualized.  Even the young girls.  Well, they’re all young, but the pre-highschool ones, even.  It really creeps me out.  I don’t understand what’s going on here, because in all other respects it is nothing like the normal cheesecake/fanservice anime.  I’m so confused.  And I feel dirty.  Why did those kids have to be sexualized?  Whyyy?  And why does it have to be interesting enough to keep me watching anyway?  WHYY?)

Boring

Skip Beat

Bizarre & Hilarious

Gintama

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei

Ouran High School Host Club

Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun

Slow & Thoughtful

Mushishi

Kino no Tabi

House of Five Leaves (though I thought a lot of the characters looked the same, and I couldn’t distinguish the flashbacks from the scenes set in the “present”)

Natsume YujinCho

Usagi Drop

Anohana

Good

Baccano!

Tsuritama

Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood

Darker than Black

Ok

Red Data Girl

Blue Exorcist (I liked the first half more than the second.  I think the ending was really fumbled.  I feel like, given what we know about Satan and Yuri, he should have been a lot more invested in his kids, especially because they were the only piece of Yuri he had left.  He shouldn’t have been like, haha!  I’ll possess one and kill the other.  Muahahah, Yuri, darling, this is our dream come true!)

Princess Jellyfish

Almost, But Not Quite

Gun x Sword

Pumpkin Scissors

Otome Youkai Zakuro (I liked the East vs West tensions, but this anime is a bit too…cute? For my tastes.)

xxxHolic (I liked it when I first watched it, but recently I tried to rewatch and couldn’t stand it anymore.)

Leave a Reply

