Box o’ Mystery Produce Challenge, Week 2

There wasn’t a Week 1, because I failed it miserably. I vowed to do better this week. Onward!

Timeline:
Wednesday – The CSA delivers unto Shu the Box (or in this week’s case, a bag)
Wednesday night – Unpack and visually ID. Take pictures of any that I am unsure of.
Thursday – ID the ones I was unsure of. Find recipes.
Thursday night to next Wednesday – Use or freeze before produce goes bad.

Produce received:
Cherries (small box of)
Zucchini (green and gold)
Leeks (3)
Romaine Lettuce (green, head of)
Red Russian Kale (bunch)
Some sort of chive-y thing? (a few)
Baby beets (three, I think)

Recipes selected:
Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins
Potato Leek Soup III
Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing
Red Russian Kale and Red Onion Savory Squares

Shu ate the beets last night, so well done her. I’m not sure what to do with the zucchini. I like using it in muffins, but I’ve already got one muffin recipe. I’m not very keen on it, generally speaking. Grate it and freeze it for later muffins? Also, not sure what to do with the maybe-chives.

I’ll report back on the results of these recipes. Probably. Unless I utterly fail to carry them out, which is always a possibility. The one most likely to fail is the winter salad, as I’m not sure about the quality/availability of pears and apples at this time. Second most likely is the soup, because either I suck at soup or I just don’t like it much in general.

Too soon to tell.

Leave a Reply

