Explaining Wesley Crusher

I went to John Scalzi’s reading yesterday.  Shu came too, which was very interesting because she:

a)      Hasn’t read any of his books
b)      Hasn’t seen any Star Trek
c)      Doesn’t know who Ray Bradbury is.

Anyway.  He started off the evening with “There Will Come Soft Rains” to commemorate Bradbury.  A bunch of us choked up.  I had tears running down my face, but then again I’ve got a 50/50 chance of sobbing whenever I listen to Space Doggity.

Then he asked us which we would rather hear: an excerpt from Redshirts or a sneak preview of the super sekrit book he’s currently writing.  Silly Scalzi.  We all took Carrot-esque Oaths of Loyalty (I, Insert Name Here, do promise…), then got a peek.  And, because this is John Scalzi we’re talking about, I don’t think I would be violating my oath if I said that the excerpt was both funny and awesome and I can’t wait until the book comes out.

And then he pulled Paul (from Paul and Storm) in to do a Redshirts-related dialogue.  There was a particularly awesome bit about exploding instrument panels.  Another one about brain-eating robots.  And then the mention of a thirteen-year-old being part of the bridge-crew, which resulted in my trying to explain Wesley Crusher to Haoshu.

Who am I kidding?  There is no explanation for Wesley.

Then the Q&A.

We were standing this entire time, because there were twice as many people as chairs.  I elected to leave before the signing, so we stopped by Haoshu’s office and picked up her CSA Box o’ Surprises.  We ID’d almost everything.  One bulby thing with leaves puzzled us, though, so I took a picture and showed it around my office until my boss identified it as kohlrabi.

This is going to be interesting.

Leave a Reply

