Sometimes I draw the wrong conclusions

Remember the “Life’s a moving Target” ads?  That slogan never made sense to me.  I see it, “Life’s a moving Target”, and I feel compelled to add, yes, because you keep missing it.  That doesn’t seem like a very nice thing to imply about your customers.

Anyway, I was reading wikipedia’s synopsis of the anime Eden of the East, and it starts out with:

“On Monday November 22, 2010, ten missiles strike against uninhabited areas of Japan, claiming no victims. This apparent terrorist act is referred to as “Careless Monday” and disregarded by most people.”

Turns out most of these two sentences is either highly misleading, or flat out wrong.  I know this because I watched the anime.  I watched the anime because I thought that “Careless Monday” seemed like a hilariously blasé way to refer to ten missiles blowing up bits of your country. My first impression was that it got its name due to something like, Oh, someone was careless with their missiles on Monday.  Turns out it was because the PM gave a speech and said, “Oh, I’ve been careless.  Apparently.  I can neither confirm nor deny whether I was careless with my missiles or careless enough to let someone else’s missiles through, though.  Uncle.”

Most of the above quote is either highly misleading or flat out wrong.  Hmm.  This is kinda fun.

Anyway.  I watched the anime, and I kind of liked it.

Plot: It was weird enough to be interesting, and occasionally bizarre enough to be hilarious.  Some bits fell through, though, because I never understood why he felt the need to be naked and holding a gun in front of the White House (of all places) when he wiped his memory.  Maybe we’ll find that out later.  Maybe not, though.  The series seemed to have a fascination with getting male characters naked (though certain areas were always tastefully blocked out with white scribbles, lulz).

Dialogue: I made do with the dubbed version on Netflix, which is always a pain.  I found about half of the things the characters said to be either cliché or unconvincing.  I’m not sure whether that’s due to the voice actors, the translators, or the original dialogue.  None of the voice actors made me want to tear my ears off, but that’s faint praise.

Animation: I’m very picky about how my anime and manga look.  I’ll usually judge whether I’m interested in an anime by how the characters look in the cover art (see Darker than Black and XXXHolic.  I decided to watch both due to nothing more than screenshots).  That’s why I was on EotE’s wikipedia page in the first place; it was in my Netflix suggestion queue and looked like something low on sparkles, shiny, and fanservice.  With that said, I was very happy with how it looked.  The two main characters really reminded me of something out of a Miyazaki film, though, thanks to their almost nonexistent noses.  That was kind of odd.

Though it does get an extra point for introducing (or reintroducing) me to the acronym NEET.  Suddenly Gintama’s obsession with acronyms for useless old people makes sense.  Ish.

Leave a Reply

