Apple Muffin Recipe I

I like baking muffins.  They are easy, and delicious.  I can freeze a batch, and have an almost-fresh muffin at work each day.  However, recently someone pointed out to me that muffins are not the most low-calorie snack on the planet.  Actually, sometimes they’re pretty bad.  So, I embarked on a quest to bake a lower calorie muffin.

I asked Shu what flavor I should aim for, and she said “apple”.  So, apple it is.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup regular flour

3/4 cup wheat flour

(you could do 1 1/2 cup regular flour, if you want)

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

18 packets of truvia, the no-calorie sweetener (equivalent of ~1/2 cup sugar)

1/4 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup butter

1 egg

1/4 cup milk

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup (111g) of unsweetened applesauce (I got the six pack of Motts.  Roughly eq. to 7 tbsp)

1 cup of peeled and grated apple (roughly eq to one medium sized apple.  I used Granny Smith)

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

 

1. Preheat oven to 315 degrees F.

2. In a bowl, combine flours, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, and truvia.  Mix well.

3. Melt the butter.  In a separate bowl with a handmixer, cream together butter and brown sugar.  Beat in egg.  Mix in milk, lemon juice, vanilla extract, and applesauce.

4. Mix the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients.  Mix in shredded apple and chocolate chips.  Makes 12 muffins.

5. Bake for 25 mins or until done.

 

Results:

I think I could have left out the chocolate chips, and still had plenty of flavor.  Also, I think I can cut back a bit on the amount of truvia added (they seemed plenty sweet).  Next time, I want to reduce the amount of butter I use to 2 tbsp and see how it works.

All in all, they are amazing muffins.  I don’t know if there exist words that I can use to express how deliciously moist and chewy they turned out.  My calorie counting excel sheet puts them at 141 calories.  Without the chocolate, they’d be 118.  I think that’s pretty good where muffins are concerned….

 

Leave a Reply

