Butter, the Natural Disaster

Back in June, Butter went off to NM because he’d snagged at internship with the LANL.  He stayed with some family who work there (that was, I suspect, how the idea was planted in Mother’s head in the first place).

So Mother packed his bags with food (because if there is no food easily available, Butter’s default state is ‘starvation’) and he flew off.  I think he got about a week’s work in before the area got evacuated due to the largest wild fire in New Mexican history.  I worried about Butter until I learned that Aunt, Uncle, and Jennifer had already had plans to pack the camper and drive over to Oklahoma City for a dog show (Jennifer’s a junior handler).

So I teased Butter mercilessly for his misfortune.  After all, being packed in a camper for a week with Uncle, Aunt, a 12-year-old, two adult English Setters, and a puppy sounds like quite the ordeal.

Once his internship was over, he tried to fly home.  One of his flights was delayed due to rain storms and he had to be put up in a hotel overnight (but that’s harld unusual because we’ve been having the soggiest August since like forever–wait…).

He was back in PA for only a few days before the first East Coast earthquake since before my parents were born (I believe.  Maybe it’s just the strongest).

Now Mother and Father are driving him up to MA to install him in his University over the weekend.  I think they’re getting to Massachusetts about a day ahead of Hurricane Irene.

I think you can see where I am going with this.  Butter rarely leaves this state, and suddenly natural disasters are following him around the country.

He’s obviously earned the wrath of Kali.  Wait, it’s been a while since I saw that episode.  I think Kali could do the earthquake and the hurricane (maybe?) but not the forest fire.  Maybe she’s got the other two in on it.

All I know is that I want to be there when he starts dancing.

Leave a Reply

